the boxer

March 19, 2009

das-herz-eines-boxers
Two weeks ago I was in Bangkok again. There was some free time so I decided to go to the area where I had stayed as a backpacker, back in 1992 (Yes, I am that old!). Strolling through the small alleys behind Kao San Road, I discovered a kickboxing hall where a foreigner was practicing with his Thai sparring partner. Lighting conditions were far from ideal and I only had my Leica with a 50mm lens. Not quite the stuff to take images of fast moving fighters.
However, a few shots came out quite nicely and reflect the dim and steamy atmosphere of the place quite well. Bangkok’s back alleys are fascinating, full of life and character.

Most of these shots I am converting into black & white. However, this one is doing great in color, too!

Leave a Reply

